The Actor

Several faces sewed on,
One atop the other,
It’s strange how the seams don’t show
Even though I’m straining under the spotlight’s glow.

But they have to stay on,
These faces, some that would make you cry
Some that entertain you,
Some that pain you,
For if they don’t, I know I will be gone,
Another actor will voice my song.

So I go on, carefully juggling,
Shuffling the faces I must hold,
Each one staring from a new magazine;
Yet I know I will grow old
As years unwrap around the sun
And the magazines will then be stashed
At the bottom of a pile of trash
And all of you who idolize me
Will have swum to another shore,
While I’m swallowed by the tide,
Chained to the sinking sea bed.

But for now, I am the hero,
Living your dreams, mouthing your words,
Taking you to an unseen world;
I am the star guiding your ship
Through a parallel universe
So hop on, let be your steed,
Feed my power, fleeting though it may be
This momentary spell I cast on you
Is my only desire, my only need.

Leave a Reply

