The deadening silence

This dim silence which surrounds me
Is this what you call the melody of the night?
Is this order your sanity?
Is this darkness your guiding light?

You box me in, you nail me down,
My madness you have in chains so it couldn’t run free;
Tell me, what was it you feared the most?
Losing your shell, or me running through your walls?

This melody that trapped you into your cage,
Silenced your anger, and killed your rage,
This silence that has become your skin,
Has it eaten all the madness within?

I look at you,
And there’s but a trace of all that you were,
Your soul, did they bleach it dry,
And hang it inside out
Till the eccentric in you dripped away?

Leave a Reply

