Detour

Today, I turned myself inside out
To speak to the stranger
who was lurking below the surface.

Today, I let him walk at his pace,
A pace dissonant with the beat of a rushing world.

Today, I let him change his course,
And walk down random paths,
Paths that lay waiting for feet to explore them.

Today, I let the stranger talk
In words that I thought I would not understand,
In words that I thought would not sound right,
In words that I thought I would laugh away.

And yet, as the stranger led me
Through those untouched paths,
And as I heard him speak,
His insanity coloured me,
His words made perfect sense.
With his hand guiding me,
I flew off the edge of routine.

This entry was posted in poetry.

Leave a Reply

