Residue

I found you in the lap of the river
Flowing freely, lacking form.

I tried to hold you in my palm,
but my fingers were not watertight,
and all they gathered was the debris of my thoughts.

So I waited for you to turn around,
and return against the flow
while the river, fed by the valley, widened her girth,
and the mountains dissolved into bread crumbs.

I grew weary,
and even the sun seemed to leave behind a shadow.

Sometimes the twilight would mould a fleeting statue of you.

Sometimes I would see your footprints
sprinkled in the woods,
and follow them until they disappeared
into the burrows of rabbits.

I realized you had embraced obscurity.
And then while on the brink of despair,
I found a grain of you left behind on the river bank.

I planted the grain
and nurtured it.

The harvest tasted like sour wine.

This entry was posted in poetry.

3 comments on “Residue

  1. ZSA_MD says:

    There are so many beautiful thoughts here…” the debris of my thoughts” especially is haunting. Great imagery of want and desire.

  2. The last line made me frown, which I think was the intended effect.There’s an interesting sound pattern if you changed “without form” to “lacking form.” It plays up the liquid sounds, which is cool given the aquatic imagery.

  3. Max_Taurean says:

    @TutelageOfTheMundane – Thought I had repliedto this earlier :PThanks for your suggestion. The opening does sound better with the change.@ZSA_MD – As always, you are generous with your appreciation. Thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

