If you want to see the person I truly am

It’s mid April already. Late entrant to the April Poetry Month, let’s see how I catch up.

If you want to see the person I truly am,
don’t ask for it.

Don’t sit at the periphery while I untie myself.
Don’t sit in the front row either.

If you want to see the person I truly am,
take the plunge.
Yes, take the plunge.

Be ready to jump over the ditch.
Be ready to take off your shoes and carry them while we wade through the river.

If you want to know the person I truly am,
throw that nod out of the window.
Stop agreeing with me even when you are clouded with doubt.
Question me at the fork in the road
and play devil’s advocate to my choices.

If you want to know the person I truly am,
stop searching for words that are just ‘right’.
Stop searching.

If you want to know the person I truly am,
turn the glasses upside down.
Juggle a few and watch one crash to the floor.

If you want to know the person I truly am,
play the game in the best way you can,
and then know what it feels like to have lost.

If you want to know the person I truly am,
help me take the hinges off this door.
Help me throw it away.

If you want to know the person I truly am,
take off your mask
while I unmask myself.

2 comments on “If you want to see the person I truly am

  1. thatmishmash says:

    I loved this ! The last three lines sum it up . I wish I could throw an un – masquerade party and wonder how many would take the invite ..lol !

  2. Un-masquerade party! Sounds like a nice theme.

Leave a Reply

