Transitions

I have walked
Chained to the ground,
Searching for a moment
To swim out of the earth,
And somersault into the sky.

I have run
Floating above grass and stone,
Rushing past snoring nights,
In the company of bats and stars,
Guided by my restless eye.

I have flown,
Mesmerised by a cloud;
Unmindful
Of the slabs of rain
That accompanied me.

And now I soar
On sun-kissed winds,
My soul weightless,
And I a few miles
Closer to the sun.

less
This entry was posted in poetry.

Leave a Reply

